back to home page
the news of iowa park
features from around iowa park
weddings, anniversaries and more
local obituaries
columns and letters
sports from local athletes
award-winning photos
let us know
ipleader advertising resources
businesses around iowa park
iowa park churches
area groups
get your message to the people
the iowa park area
the town of friendly living
the best of schools
links of interest
iowa park's paper since 1969
the leader staff
give us a shout





Locals fare well at county livestock show

Young exhibitors from Iowa Park and surrounding area fared quite well once again at the 2014 Wichita County Junior Livestock Show, held at the J.S. Bridwell Center in Wichita Falls.

Members of Future Farmers of America programs from Iowa Park, Rider, Burkburnett, City View, Electra in addition to members of the Wichita County 4-H participated in the three-day event, and 117 projects were auctioned during Saturday night’s Premium Sale Auction.

Of the 14 division Grand Champions in the event, five were from Iowa Park exhibitors.

The local Grand Champions included Jordan Starr, Grand Championi Breeding Gilt; Laramie Eppler, Grand Chamion Market Goat; McKena Shafer, Grand Champion Breeding Doe; Rylee Hodges, Grand Champion Turkey Hen; and, Halee Langen, Grand Champion Turkey Tom.

The livestock show administration also unveiled five $1,000 scholarships, with money raised from the show’s banner sales. Madison Riggins and Nathan Davis of the Iowa Park FFA were among the recipients.

Several local exhibitors came away with belt buckles as Showmanship Winners.

They include Jordan Starr, Senior Swine Showmanship; Taybor Eastep, Junior Sheep Showmanship; Madison Riggins, Senior Sheep Showmanship; Kyle Shelton, Intermediate Goat Showmanship; Ryan Routh, Intermediate Poultry Showmanship; Morgan Brown, Intermediate Rabbit Showmanship; and, Mable Jordan, Senior Rabbit Showmanship.

Local exhibitors making the Premium Sale Saturday, with special recognition in parenthesis, are as follows:

Laramie Eppler (Grand Champion), Hagan Dutton, Caleb Kyle, Kyle Shelton, Justin Shelton, Mason Kaufhold, Kirklynd Britt, Natalie Ewing, Joseph Persick, Seth Riggins, Gage Garner, Michelle Cook, Sarah Farquharson, and Katy Hicks.
Halee Langen (Grand Champion), Laret McCalip (Reserve Champion), and Elliott Leath.
Rylee Hodges (Grand Champion), and Addison McCalip (Reserve Champion).
McKena Shafer (Reserve Champion, Reserve Breed Champion Medium Wool), Westin Campbell (Breed Champion Hair Sheep), Taybor Eastep, MacKenzie Campbell, Kaylie McCarty, Lacie Trammell, Madison Riggins, Madison Loyd, and Andy Eastep.
Jordan Starr (Reserve Breed Champion Light Cross), Micah Scobee (Grand Champion Spot), Brady Peirce, Jacey Shipp, McKinley Lee (Reserve Champion York), Bubba Harris, Shyanne Manry, Dylan Peirce, Nathan Davis, Jacie Payton, Rhegan Blackerby, Erica Harris, Garrett Starr, Karah Scobee, Chloe Holland, Montana Lehman, and Chloe Partridge.
Mable Jordan (Reserve Champion), Latham J. Moody, and Kaylee Reis.