back to home page
the news of iowa park
features from around iowa park
weddings, anniversaries and more
local obituaries
columns and letters
sports from local athletes
award-winning photos
let us know
ipleader advertising resources
businesses around iowa park
iowa park churches
area groups
get your message to the people
the iowa park area
the town of friendly living
the best of schools
links of interest
iowa park's paper since 1969
the leader staff
give us a shout





Better Business Bureau CEO to speak at COC banquet

By Sherrie Williams
Iowa Park Chamber of Commerce’s Annual Banquet will start at 6 p.m. Saturday at the First Family Center.
Guest speaker of the event will be Monica Horton, the CEO of the Better Business Bureau of North Central Texas.
The meal will be Sour Cream Chicken and the trimmings catered by Butterstick Bakery and Deli.
Tickets are $20 each and Friday is the last day to buy the tickets in advance. Tickets will be available at the door.
Each ticket will give you an opportunity to win a door prize and additional tickets can be purchased for $1 each to increase your chance to win a prize.
Centerpieces from the tables will be drawn for and given as door prizes.
Also a grand prize donated by Cryovac will be drawn for.
Iowa Park COC 2016 officers will installed during the banquet.
Highlights of the evening will be recognizing an outstanding business, citizen, senior citizen, student, and secondary and elementary educators.
The Citizen of the Year Award has been presented to a deserving person in the community since 1971, with Gladys James being the first recipient.
Other winners include Dr. Gordon Clark, Mrs. Frank Harlin, Ralph Beall, Wayne House, Darrell Dick, Lita Watson, Mrs. Charlie Lee, Bill Steger, Gordon Griffith, Buck Voyles, Bill Gilmore, H.M. Nipper, Iowa Park Volunteer Fire Department, and Grover Cleveland.
Also, Frances George, James Barrington, Dr. Erwin Soell, Robert Palmer, Bob Hamilton, Michael Price, Ruth Welch, Sheri Kennedy, Joe Hughes, Louis Sefcik, O.N. Newman, Kenneth Via, Tommy Key, Richard Hicks, Glena Via, Steven Raby, Danny Skinner, Murray Shook, Gene Jordan, Tim Hunter, Dolores Hamilton, Chris Schlaud, Kathy Riggins, Randy Fulbright, Ouida Gartman, Molly Dutton, Belvin Lytle, Dana Ross, Karla Neal, and Mike Price.
The award for Outstanding Senior Citizen began in 1976. Recipients include: Fenton Dale, Mrs. W.F. George, Arch Hughes, Charlie Metz, Bertha McDonald, Otis Gay, Mrs. James Sewell, Lester Brooks, Riley Thompson, Olive Blalock, Pauline Singleton, Carl Sullivan, Ida Mae Lehman, Raymond Good, Tommie Smith, Betty Lowe, Wayne House, Virgil Woodfin, Myrna Robinson.
Also, Laverne Owen, Dean Henderson, Carlton Hicks, Joe Singer, Margaret Sheets, James Beals, Claudia Friday, Norm Fortner, Wayne Williams, Betty Merriman, Betty Dyer, Martha Dudley, Jake Jacobi, Joe Ward, Marilyn Hale, Catherine Stephenson, Peggy Robertson, Charlene Parks, Marlene MacPherson, Robert Wilsox and Delbert Todd.
Outstanding Educator Award was first presented in 1979 to John Sibley. Other winners are Ethyle Kidwell, Linda Ayres, Bob Dawson, Earnie Reusch, Patsy Todd, Carol Edwards, Joni Whitis, Greg Miller, Jim Gotcher, Helen Roberts, Carole Venhaus, Kenneth Davis.
Also, Carolyn Richter, Dorothy Palmer, Linda Gray, Joann Hale, Jean Johnson, Pat Cravens, Richard Davis, Mike Caplinger, Ed Hefti, Leslie Crumb, Wendy Meadows, Kellie Gibson, George Collins, Mozelle Sullivan, Chris Ellis, Necia Wilson, Gayle Miller, Stephanie Roberts, Brandi Swenson, Coach David Fuhrman, and Denise Alsup.
In 2013, the COC added a Secondary Educator of the Year award as well as Elementary Educator of the Year.
The first educator to receive the Secondary Educator of the Year was Mike Bowling followed by Cindy Skjelstand and Christy Tucker.
Elementary Educator of the Year Marianne Jensen followed by Valerie Dillard and Mickie Moody.
The first to receive the Student of the Year award was Amanda Perry, followed by: Justin Swenson, Haley Thompson, Bethany Dillard, Kelsey Johnson, Zac Davis, Courtney Decker Amanda Fuhrman, Cole Watson, Jace Langen, Latham Moody and Rylee Hodges.
Outstanding businesses that have been recognized include: Cryovac, State National Bank, City of Iowa Park, Entex, Dutton Funeral Home, B&R Thriftway, Scobee’s Mini Mart, Park Clinic, Ken’s Pizza, Iowa Park CISD, Red River Harley Davidson, K&K Foods, IESI, North Texas Vortex, Auto Craft Collision, Subway, Kathy’s Bakery and Deli, Mundy Construction, Parkway True Value, Brad’s Quick Change and Used Cars, Gene James Heating and Cooling, Ken’s Pizza, The Famous Laundrymat, First Bank, The Bake Shop and Iowa Park Florist.
For more information about the banquet contact David at 592-5441.