back to home page
the news of iowa park
features from around iowa park
weddings, anniversaries and more
local obituaries
columns and letters
sports from local athletes
award-winning photos
let us know
ipleader advertising resources
businesses around iowa park
iowa park churches
area groups
get your message to the people
the iowa park area
the town of friendly living
the best of schools
links of interest
iowa park's paper since 1969
the leader staff
give us a shout





Chamber of Commerce banquet Saturday

By: Sherrie Williams
The annual Chamber of Commerce Awards Banquet will be held at 6 p.m. Saturday at First Family Center with Dennis Swanburg as guest speaker.
Swanburg, known to his television audiences as “The Swan” is a seasoned communicator, a teacher, speaker, author, counselor, preacher, and television host.

A meal of barbecue, potato salad, cole slaw, dessert and tea, will be served buffet style.

Cost for the banquet is $20 and tickets are still available in advance at the office of Economic Development at 104 North Wall, Parkway True Value, Hughes Pharmacy, and First Bank.

Each meal ticket bought will include a ticket for the door prize drawing and additional tickets will be available for $1 each or 25 tickets for $20.
Along with other items, the centerpiece of each table, donated by local businesses, will be drawn for. The top door prize will be an iPad donated by Cryovac.

Doors will be open at 5:45 p.m.

The highlight of the banquet is the presentation of awards for Outstanding Citizen, Senior Citizen, Student, Business, and Educators of the Year.
For the first time, two educators will be honored. An elementary educator and secondary educator.

The Citizen of the Year Award has been presented to a deserving person in the community since 1971, with Gladys James being the first recipient.
Other winners include Dr. Gordon Clark, Mrs. Frank Harlin, Ralph Beall, Wayne House, Darrell Dick, Lita Watson, Mrs. Charlie Lee, Bill Steger, Gordon Griffith, Buck Voyles, Bill Gilmore, H.M. Nipper, Iowa Park Volunteer Fire Department, and Grover Cleveland.

Also, Frances George, James Barrington, Dr. Erwin Soell, Robert Palmer, Bob Hamilton, Michael Price, Ruth Welch, Sheri Kennedy, Joe Hughes, Louis Sefcik, O.N. Newman, Kenneth Via, Tommy Key, Richard Hicks, Glena Via, Steven Raby, Danny Skinner, Murray Shook, Gene Jordan, Tim Hunter, Dolores Hamilton, Chris Schlaud, Kathy Riggins, Randy Fulbright, Ouida Gartman, Molly Dutton, and Belvin Lytle.

The award for Outstanding Senior Citizen began in 1976. Recipients include: Fenton Dale, Mrs. W.F. George, Arch Hughes, Charlie Metz, Bertha McDonald, Otis Gay, Mrs. James Sewell, Lester Brooks, Riley Thompson, Olive Blalock, Pauline Singleton, Carl Sullivan, Ida Mae Lehman, Raymond Good, Tommie Smith, Betty Lowe, Wayne House, Virgil Woodfin, Myrna Robinson.

Also, Laverne Owen, Dean Henderson, Carlton Hicks, Joe Singer, Margaret Sheets, James Beals, Claudia Friday, Norm Fortner, Wayne Williams, Betty Merriman, Betty Dyer, Martha Dudley, Jake Jacobi, Joe Ward, Marilyn Hale, Catherine Stephenson, Peggy Robertson, and Charlene Parks.

Outstanding Educator Award was first presented in 1979 to John Sibley. Other winners are Ethyle Kidwell, Linda Ayres, Bob Dawson, Earnie Reusch, Patsy Todd, Carol Edwards, Joni Whitis, Greg Miller, Jim Gotcher, Helen Roberts, Carole Venhaus, Kenneth Davis.

Also, Carolyn Richter, Dorothy Palmer, Linda Gray, Joann Hale, Jean Johnson, Pat Cravens, Richard Davis, Mike Caplinger, Ed Hefti, Leslie Crumb, Wendy Meadows, Kellie Gibson, George Collins, Mozelle Sullivan, Chris Ellis, Necia Wilson, Gayle Miller, Stephanie Roberts, Brandi Swenson, Coach David Fuhrman and Denise Alsup.

The first to receive the Student of the Year award was Amanda Perry, followed by: Justin Swenson, Haley Thompson, Bethany Dillard, Kelsey Johnson, Zac Davis, Courtney Decker Amanda Fuhrman, and Cole Watson.

Outstanding businesses that have been recognized include: Cryovac, State National Bank, City of Iowa Park, Entex, Dutton Funeral Home, B&R Thriftway, Scobee’s Mini Mart, Park Clinic, Ken’s Pizza, Iowa Park CISD, Red River Harley Davidson, K&K Foods, IESI, North Texas Vortex, Auto Craft Collision, Subway, Kathy’s Bakery and Deli, Mundy Construction, Parkway True Value, Brad’s Quick Change and Used Cars, Gene James Heating and Cooling, Ken’s Pizza, and The Famous Laundry mat.