back to home page
the news of iowa park
features from around iowa park
weddings, anniversaries and more
local obituaries
columns and letters
sports from local athletes
award-winning photos
let us know
ipleader advertising resources
businesses around iowa park
iowa park churches
area groups
get your message to the people
the iowa park area
the town of friendly living
the best of schools
links of interest
iowa park's paper since 1969
the leader staff
give us a shout





Outstanding citizens, business honored

During the annual Chamber of Commerce Banquet held Saturday evening top people and a business were recognized.

Belvin Lytle was named Citizen of the Year; Charlene Parks was named Senior Citizen of the Year; The Famous Laundry mat, owned by Chad and Karen Witherspoon, was named Business of the Year; Denise Alsup was named Educator of the Year; and Cole Watson was named Student of the year.

Guest speaker Bill Lockwood presented a program on the history of the first Amendment of the United States Constitution.

New COC Executive Board was also installed.

Officers are: Ken Via, president; Cheyenne Neal, first vice president; Dana Ross, second vice-president; and past president Ruth James.

The COC Board of Directors includes: Jerry Baird, Jonathan Clubb, Richard McIlroy, Kendall Graves, Joe Hughes, Jim Webb, Lisa Brackett, Gene Jordan, Jeff Rhoades, Glena Via, Mike Price, Jace Langen, Joe Singer, Ouida Gartman, Madison Yandell, and Steve Smith.