back to home page
the news of iowa park
features from around iowa park
weddings, anniversaries and more
local obituaries
columns and letters
sports from local athletes
award-winning photos
let us know
ipleader advertising resources
businesses around iowa park
iowa park churches
area groups
get your message to the people
the iowa park area
the town of friendly living
the best of schools
links of interest
iowa park's paper since 1969
the leader staff
give us a shout





Welding program to be offered
to IPHS students starting fall 2013

by Dolores Hamilton
Iowa Park school trustees approved a College for All Pilot Grant that will provide Iowa Park High School students with dual credit assistance and a certified welding program.

High school Principal Tim Bartram and Academic Coordinator Jodi Schlaud explained the class offerings, requirements and benefits of the grant to the trustees at their meeting Thursday.

The Welding Program includes:
• IPHS will offer a "mirroring" program in collaboration with Vernon College (VC);

• Mr. Reed will observe classes at VC so IPHS courses are an exact replication of what is being taught there;

• The courses are considered "Continuing Education" courses, so they will be free to students;

• The only cost to students is $25/course in order for them to transfer over to VC as credit upon completion of the courses;

• The shop at IPHS will be configured as much like VC's shop as possible;
• One-on-one welding machines and booths;

• The shop will be structured and organized;

• Current 10th graders will be the first group to complete the program; and
• Ten students will be able to take the course.

Dual Credit Assistance:
• All current sophomores will take and pass the Accuplacer exam at IPHS in order to qualify for the dual credit program;

• Students who are unsuccessful on the exam will be offered tutorials;

• Students will have the opportunity to re-take the Accuplacer throughout the summer;

• Dual Credit students maintaining at least a 3.0 for the Fall 2013 semester will be given $100 toward their Spring 2014 tuition in addition to the $100 scholarship they receive for the VC College Connections Scholarship; and
• This will be repeated for the 2014-2015 year, as well.

"The thing I like about this is we'll be reaching other students who are not taking dual credit courses," Bartram said.

In other business, trustees voted to amend the Delinquent Tax Contract for Collection of Delinquent Taxes between the school district and Perdue, Brandon, Fielder, Colllins & Mott, and approved a 20 percent penalty of all delinquent taxes to defray the costs of collection of delinquent taxes for the 2012 tax year and for each succeeding year thereafter.

Tony Fidelie, tax attorney for the firm, spoke to the board members about the increase and said that the majority of school districts in this area had changed to the higher percent for penalty.

Other action taken by the board included:
• Approved Financial Benefit Services as third party administrator for employee benefits;• Conducted the second reading of TASB Policy Update 96;

• PC Net was approved as the security camera system contractor; and

• Edgin, Parkman, Fleming and Fleming was approved to do the school's annual audit.

Architect Jackie Lebow and construction manager Darrell Durant reported on progress of the facilities improvements project. They said there had been some delay because of rain, but work was moving along very well.

Following a closed session to discuss personnel, the board approved the following paraprofessionals for the 2013-2014 school year:

High School - Tammy Hoover, Vicky Merrell, and Donna Williams;

Middle School - Braden Perry, Erin Whedbee, Edie Bartlett, Terrie Willett, Heather Brown, and Laura Allen;

Bradford - Gayle Lyles, secretary, Christy Moulton, Maranda Lovell, Diana Rodgers, Debra Bria, Geanice Adkins, Dana Griffin, Megan Swedberg, K'ann Graves, and Clifton McFadden; and

Kidwell - Hope Allen, Cynthia Billingsley, Dana Davis, Jamie Fulton, Rachel Gibbons, Debra Honeycutt, Martha Hutchings, Michelle Jetton, Anita McShan, Julie Petree, Kristina Romoser, Holley Sanders, and Linda Taylor.

Resignations were accepted from Leslie Crumb, Sue Scott and Tanya Daume.