back to home page
the news of iowa park
features from around iowa park
weddings, anniversaries and more
local obituaries
columns and letters
sports from local athletes
award-winning photos
let us know
ipleader advertising resources
businesses around iowa park
iowa park churches
area groups
get your message to the people
the iowa park area
the town of friendly living
the best of schools
links of interest
iowa park's paper since 1969
the leader staff
give us a shout





Kimbro named MVP in 5-4A All-District Baseball

Iowa Park High School seniors Landen Kimbro and Dalton Klasse led the Hawks in postseason baseball honors in 2016, with Kimbro named Most Valuable Player, and Klasse Offensive MVP in voting by conference coaches for 5-4A All-District Baseball.
The two Hawks were unanimous selections by district coaches, and led a host of other Hawks earning conference honors.
Seniors Gerrit Deatherage (outfield), Franco Nieto (infield), and junior Ty Shehan (infield) were unanimous first team selections, and joined by freshman first baseman Chris Dickens.
Ryan Miser (outfield), Kase Johnson (infield), designated hitter Derek Hostas, and catcher Justin Thornhill earned Second Team honors as underclassmen.
In addition to Kimbro and Klasse, the District 5-4A elite for 2016 included Burkburnett junior Cristian Rangel as Defensive MVP, Burkburnett senior Brennan Mullins as Pitcher of the Year, Burkburnett sophomore Wyatt Grant Newcomer of the Year along with Vernon freshman Tyler Reevers, Vernon senior Seth Petzold Utility Player of the Year, and the coaching staffs of Iowa Park (including Michael Swenson and Mark Zimmer) as Coaching Staffs of the Year.
Pitchers - Chad Thomas, So., Vernon; Hunter Brooks, Sr., Burkburnett.
Outfielders - Gerrit Deatherage, Sr., Iowa Park; Robert Knight, So., Burkburnett; Mason Everett, Sr., Vernon; Jacob Trufan, So., Vernon.
Infielders - Blair Hawthorne, Sr., Burkburnett; Franco Nieto, Sr., Iowa Park; Ty Sheehan, Jr., Iowa Park.
First Baseman - Chris Dickens, Fr., Iowa Park; Evan Bailey, Sr., Vernon.
Designated Hitter - Mitchell Jennings, Sr., Burkburnett.
Catcher - Colton Sims, Sr., Vernon.
Pitchers - Alex Wetzel, Sr., Burkburnett; Devon Burkhalter, Jr., Hirschi.
Outfielders - Ryan Miser, Sr., Iowa Park; Ryan Nader, Jr., Hirschi; Francisco Cardenas, Sr., Vernon.
Infielders - Kody Bigford, Fr., Burkburnett; Connor Bachert, Jr., Burkburnett; Kase Johnson, Fr., Iowa Park.
First Baseman - Devon Harbuck, Sr., Hirschi.
Designated Hitter - Shawn Cunningham, So., Hirschi; Derek Hostas, So., Iowa Park.
Catcher - Justin Thornhill, So., Iowa Park; Kaigon Boydston, Jr., Hirschi.