back to home page
the news of iowa park
features from around iowa park
weddings, anniversaries and more
local obituaries
columns and letters
sports from local athletes
award-winning photos
let us know
ipleader advertising resources
businesses around iowa park
iowa park churches
area groups
get your message to the people
the iowa park area
the town of friendly living
the best of schools
links of interest
iowa park's paper since 1969
the leader staff
give us a shout





Tuesday is primary day

Tuesday is election day in the Democratic and Republican Primary Elections, and the polls will be open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.

Polling locations for voters in Iowa Park and surrounding area include:
Precinct 309 - First Baptist Family Center, 300 W. Bank, Iowa Park;
Precinct 310 - Bradford Elementary, 800 W. Texowa, Iowa Park;
Precincts 101 and 106, West Wichita Co-op, 5668 FM 1206, Valley View;
Precinct 412 - Democratic only, Cowboy Church; 2635 Haws Rd., Iowa Park;
Precinct 412 - Republican Only, West Foundation Elementry, 5220 Lake Wellington, Wichita Falls.

Tomorrow is the last day to vote early primary elections.

In Iowa Park the location for early voting is the Wichita County Tax Office, 400 N. Wall St. Other locations in the county include:
Wichita Falls - County courthouse, 900 7th St., 2nd floor; Sikes Senter Mall 3111 Midwestern Pkwy.; and Home Depot, 3705 Kell Blvd.
Burkburnett - Old Burkburnett City Hall, 208 E. 4th St.
Electra - Commissioner Bldg., Pct. 4, 2023 State Hwy. 25 North.

The polls will be open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. in all locations with the exception of Electra that will be open from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. and closed from 12-noon to 1 for lunch.

The following Wichita County races will be on the Republican primary ballot:
State Board of Education Dist. 15 - Marty Rowley and Anette Carlisle;
State Senate, District 30 - Craig Estes and Jim Herblin;
State Representative, District 69 - James Frank;
89th District Judge - Mark Price;
Sheriff - David Duke;
County Tax Assessor-Collector - Tommy Smyth and Clay Glasgow;
County Commissioner Pct. 1 (only ballots within Pct. 1) - Ray Gonzalez;
County Commissioner Pct. 3 (only ballots within Pct. 3) - Gordon Griffith;
Constable Pct. 3 - Randy Alsup and Alton Yeakley
Donna Long, County Chairman

The following Wichita County races will be on the Democratic primary ballot:
State Board of Education - Steven D. Schafersman;
89th District Court Judge - Holly G. Crampton;
County Tax Assessor-Collector - Lou Huff Murdock;
County Commissioner Pct. 3 (only ballots within Pct. 3) - Barry Mahler and Michael Davis;
Constable, Pct. 2 (only ballots within Pct. 2) Thomas L. Black;
Justice of the Peace, Pct. 1, Pl. 1 (only ballots within Pct. 1) - Janice R. Sons.
John Richie, County Chairman.

Voters must pick either the Republican or the Democratic primary they wish to vote in, regardless of party affiliation. You cannot vote in both primaries. This will not affect how you have to vote in the November elections.