back to home page
the news of iowa park
features from around iowa park
weddings, anniversaries and more
local obituaries
columns and letters
sports from local athletes
award-winning photos
let us know
ipleader advertising resources
businesses around iowa park
iowa park churches
area groups
get your message to the people
the iowa park area
the town of friendly living
the best of schools
links of interest
iowa park's paper since 1969
the leader staff
give us a shout





Incumbents successful in light primary turnout

by Dolores Hamilton
Voter turnout was light for Tuesday’s Texas party primary elections in which area incumbents were successful.

In the Wichita County races, Tommy Smyth won the Republican nomination for tax assessor-collector by defeating Clay Glasgow 3,149 to 3,073. Smyth will face tax collector Lou Murdock, a Democrat, in the general election.

Incumbent Barry Mahler, Precinct 3 Commissioner, defeated challenger Michael Davis 267 votes to 142 in the Democratic primary. Mahler will face Republican Gordon Griffith in the November elections.

In the Republican race for county constable, Randy Alsup defeated Alton Yeakley 464 - 298. Alsup has no opponent in the general election.

Incumbent Craig Estes won the Republican nomination for the 30th State Senate seat, defeating Jim Herblin. Estes faces no Democratic opponent in the November general election.

James Frank of Wichita Falls had no opponent in the Republican primary and will face no opponent in the general election for State Representative District 69 seat. He will replace Lanham Lyne, who chose not to run for re-election.

U.S. Representative Mac Thornberry won the Republican Primary for the 13th Congressional District, defeating Pam Barlow of Bowie. Thornberry could face two challengers in the general election, Libertarian John Deek of Denton and Green Party candidate Keith Houston of Randall County.

In the Republican race to replace retiring U.S. Senator Kay Bailey Huchison, Texas Lt. Gov. David Dewhurst and Tea Party candidate Ted Cruz will face each other in a run-off election on July 31. Neither received more than 50 percent of the vote in a field of nine candidates.

In the Republican presidential primary, Mitt Romney won by a large margin and earned enough delegates to secure his nomination. He will face President Barack Obama, a Democrat, in the general election.