back to home page
the news of iowa park
features from around iowa park
weddings, anniversaries and more
local obituaries
columns and letters
sports from local athletes
award-winning photos
let us know
ipleader advertising resources
businesses around iowa park
iowa park churches
area groups
get your message to the people
the iowa park area
the town of friendly living
the best of schools
links of interest
iowa park's paper since 1969
the leader staff
give us a shout





City holds joint meetings
with boards, commissioners

by Dolores Hamilton
The Iowa Park City Council met in joint session with members of the Planning and Zoning Commission, and Board of Adjustment on Monday night. On Tuesday night the council met with members of the Economic Development (4A) and Community Development (4B) Boards of Directors. Both meetings were held at Tom Burnett Memorial Library.
City Secretary Janice Newman administered the oath of office to members of the Board of Adjustment who had not previously been sworn in. Members include Carmen Lozipone, Cindy Tracey, Kelly Riggs, Mike Price, David Padgett, Gary Bradford, Max Henderson, and Sherry Little.
Only two members of the Planning and Zoning Commission, David Padgett and Chris Schlaud, were present and they had already taken the oath of office. Other members are Jonathan Clubb, Barry Watson, and Chad Witherspoon.
Newman also swore in City Attorney Jay Cantrell and Code Enforcement Officer Charlie Dudley.
Council members approved the resignation of Don Ehlert from the Planning and Zoning Commission.
During the election of officers, Mike Price was elected Chairperson of the Board of Adjustment and Max Henderson Vice Chairperson.
Planning and Zoning Commission did not have a quorum present, so no election was held.
City Manager Jerry Flemming reviewed guidelines the two groups work under. Planning and Zoning Commission recommends zoning boundaries and regulations for each district. The Board of Adjustment decides special exemptions and authorizes variances. “The city staff and city employees cannot give variances, only the Board of Adjustment can do that,” Flemming said.
At the Tuesday night meeting, the council accepted the resignations of Jim Stevens from the Economic Development (4A) Board, and Gene Jordan from the Community Development (4B) Board.
The oath of office was administered to members of the 4A and 4B boards that had not previously been sworn in.
The two boards conducted an election of officers, and Phil Johnson was elected president, and Randy Gibson, vice president of the Economic Development (4A) Board. Community Development (4B) board members elected Dolores Hamilton, president, and Heath Hodges, vice president.
Members serving on the 4A Board are Glena Via, Max Henderson, Mike Price, Phil Johnson, and Randy Gibson. Members of the 4B Board are Arlene Eaton, Cary Waters, Dolores Hamilton, Heath Hodges, Jeff Watts, and Randy Catlin.
City Manager Jerry Flemming reviewed projects that could be undertaken by each board, and the requirements to be a member of the boards.
In action concerning city business, the council approved a request for city equipment to prepare a mud volleyball court on Lakeview Church of God property, and water for a Fourth of July mud volleyball tournament and charity fundraiser on July 3.