back to home page
the news of iowa park
features from around iowa park
weddings, anniversaries and more
local obituaries
columns and letters
sports from local athletes
award-winning photos
let us know
ipleader advertising resources
businesses around iowa park
iowa park churches
area groups
get your message to the people
the iowa park area
the town of friendly living
the best of schools
links of interest
iowa park's paper since 1969
the leader staff
give us a shout





Mean Green Marching Machine
earns 32nd consecutive "I" at marching contest

by Kevin Hamilton
On a sunny fall Saturday at Memorial Stadium, the Iowa Park High School Mean Green Marching Machine put on an exceptional show ... prompting one judge to say it was “the best band we have seen all day” ... resulting in the IPHS band receiving its 32nd consecutive Superior I rating in the UIL Region Marching Contest.

In addition to Iowa Park’s I rating, fellow District 5-3A bands Burkburnett and Graham also received the coveted rating for their respective performances. Hirschi received a II rating, and Vernon a III.

Because of UIL rules, the Hawk Band can not proceed past the Region round. They will be eligible to compete up to the state level in the 2014-15 marching season.

Comments from the judges regarding the Hawk Band’s performance include the following:

“Wow! Great Job! Well done. A beautiful performance. A super performance. Good everything. That was the best I have seen and heard today. You are a credit to your school, your community, and yourselves. Congratulations – you should be very proud of yourselves. I really enjoyed it!”
– Don Thoede, Clifton

“Beautiful brass, woodwind and percussion sounds. Always controlled and well in tune. A really well rehearsed and executed performance. Beautiful ensemble sounds. Good execution of marching fundamentals. Very clean – Guard work was very effective. Ballet soloist was oustanding. Loved your show!!”
– Michael Marsh, Sherman

“Excellent playing band! Very well done. Good attention to musical detail. Solid balance and blend. This music was very well-rehearsed. Thanks! Great uniformity of marching style. Good attention to spacing/alignment. Thanks for a nice performance. Congratulations!”
– Phil Anthony, Lubbock

It was the first competition for the Hawk Band under the direction of Charlie Bradberry and Elizabeth Wetherbee.

Bradberry said, “First, Mrs. Wetherbee and I would like to thank the parents for their overwhelming support through this time of transition. I would also like to say a huge thank you to Coach Ponder and the high school football team for the support they and the IPHS cheerleaders showed us on Saturday. Them being there made the day that much more special and the kids really appreciated it.”

On a personal note, Bradberry said, “I want to send a very special and heart filled thanks to my parents Jim and Sue Bradberry (IPHS Class of ‘67) for teaching me the value of perserverance and hard work. It’s been a tough road, but their faith, support and encouragement has made all the difference. Thank you Mom and Dad!”

The show performed by Iowa Park this year is a salute to the country’s military past and present, including a collection of early American songs. Soloists include Erin Stone on Shenandoah, and Christopher Traylor on When Johnny Comes Marching Home.

The 2013-14 IPHS Hawk Band includes the following members:
FLUTE - Rhagen Thompson, Robyn Sperry, Brooke Charon, Kendell Wilson, Sarah Rambo, Haleigh Curts, Domenic Swinburne, Carlee Creswell, Hannah Ward, Mikayla Kelmer, Hailey Durham, Madison Blevins, Samantha Reed, and Ayla Jordan.
CLARINET - Emily Allen, Megan Allen, Sarah Farquharson, Alexis Campbell, Paige Armstrong, Claire Featherston, Kati Skinner, Emily Hutchings, Emily Miser, Kadie Haswell, Shyanne Manry, and Christina Alambar.
ALTO SAX - Adam Lehman, Kaci Wells, Cade Lampe, Dalton Lewis, Ashley Lucas, and Meghan Bradberry.
TENOR SAX - Myles Hanford, Hannah Burns, Tyler Harp, Drake Greene, Jordan Hyden, Corey Witherspoon, and Will Lawson.
TRUMPETS - Colby Alston, Kaleb Kendall, Cable DeWeese, and Jacob Shultz.
HORN - Erin Stone, Jennifer Hams, and Zach Shugart.
TROMBONE - Jared Pruett, Jacob Fuhrman, Jake McCarty, Holden Hall, Taryn Son, Austin Harris, and Bryce Curtis.
BARITONE - Matt Crockett, Jackson Merrick, Jordan Willett, Cody Potter, Ronny Medina, Kilee McCallister, Nathan Eaves.
TUBA - Carter Case, and Jacob McLean
PERCUSSION - Nathan Blain, Seth Witherspoon, Jered Stevens, Derrick Clark, Isaac Diaz, Hannah Gryseel, Jacob Canedo, Lacey Stowers, and Audry Dorman.
PIT - Jessica Allen, Melaina Alexander, Bailey Wardwell, Tayler Griminger, and Daniel Rolfe.
FLAGS - Rachel Hensen, Kylee Sampley, Camie Lewis, Cheyenne O’Brien, Sam Holliday, Raven Williams, Payton Odom, Maddie Reese, Katherine Lunsford, Kayle Vanover, Sierra Peirce, Hope Porter, Alyssa Farr, and Sarah Falnas.
DRUM MAJORS - Christopher Traylor and Mable Jordan.