back to home page
the news of iowa park
features from around iowa park
weddings, anniversaries and more
local obituaries
columns and letters
sports from local athletes
award-winning photos
let us know
ipleader advertising resources
businesses around iowa park
iowa park churches
area groups
get your message to the people
the iowa park area
the town of friendly living
the best of schools
links of interest
iowa park's paper since 1969
the leader staff
give us a shout





Hawk Band does it again

The Iowa Park High School Hawk Band competed Saturday in the UIL Region 2 Marching Contest at Memorial Stadium in Wichita Falls, earning a unanimous Division “I” rating from the judges.

The “I” rating keeps a special streak alive, as Director Greg Miller and the Pride of Iowa Park have now notched their 31st consecutive top rating at the region level.

The Hawk Band also qualified for the UIL Area B Marching Contest, set for Saturday at C.H. Collins Stadium in Denton.

Burkburnett High School Band also received a unanimous “I” rating, and advances to the area round. Hirschi and Graham received a “II” rating, and Vernon a “III”.

“We were very pleased with the students’ efforts Saturday,” Miller said. “They really did a great job.

“One thing that we noticed as as the band came onto the field was the tremendous support from the people in the stands,” Miller remarked. “They just kept cheering and would not stop. I have never seen that happen in the past. I think all of us on the field got goose bumps.

“It was great,” he exclaimed.

The following comments were made by judges as they graded the Hawk Band’s performance Saturday:

“Great musicianship! Great marching! Good horn angles, upper body, good sets, lines. Bravo!”
Luke McMillan,
Abilene Wylie

“Nice, quality sounds throughout the band! Well done! Great blended and balanced band sound! Congratulations on a really fine show!”
Corey Ash,
Howard Payne University,

“Really nice sounds! Nice job woodwinds! Great marching fundamentals. Overall, a terrific show today!”
Mike Lipe,
Fine Arts Director,
Wylie ISD

There will be 24 Class 3A bands competing for only four spots at the state marching contest.

Miller said that Area B is traditionally one of the top areas in Texas.

“Our area for 3A bands in the state is probably the most talented and competitive in the state,” he said. “I alway stell our student when they go to area, they are at the state marching contest already.

“The winner of the 3A championship for marching bands has come from our area for at least the last decade, it seems,” continued Miller. “In fact, last time, bands at state from our area finished first, third, fifth, and seventh in the finals.

So, any band had better perform at their absolute best at the area contest.”

There will be an admission fee at the area contest, $5 for adults, and $3 for students and senior citizens.

The Hawk Band is scheduled to enter the field at C.H. Collins Stadium Saturday at 11:45 a.m.

Each of the bands have 15-minute windows in which to enter and perform, then exit.

The bands will begin performing at 9:30 that morning through 5 in the afternoon.

At that time, 10 bands will be named finalists, and perform a second time from 7 to 9:30. Judges will then name the four bands that will advance to the state contest.

Class 3A bands competing Saturday in addition to Iowa Park include Carrolton Ranchview, Canton, Melissa, Mabank, Wills Point, Bridgeport, Burkburnett, Nevada Community, Mineral Wells, Decatur, Anna, Celina, Madison, Lake Worth, Frisco Lone Star, Krum, Kaufman, Princeton, Gainesville, Aubrey, Sanger, Ferris, and Argyle.

The 2012-13 Hawk Band is under the direction of Miller, and assistants Ed Hefti and Elizabeth Wetherbee.

Band members include Christina Alambar, Emily Allen, Megan Allen, Colby Alston, Nathan Blain, Madison Blevins, Hannah Burns, Alexis Campbell, Carter Case, Derrick Clark, Carlee Creswell, Matthew Crockett, Isaac Diaz, Sarah Farquharson, Dylan Freeman, Jacob Fuhrman, Taylor Griminger, Hannah Gryseels, Holden Hall, Jennifer Hams, Blake Hanford, Myles Hanford, Tyler Harp, Jacob Hawkins, Brandon Hays, Sara House, Emily Hutchings, Nathan Jacobi, Mable Jordan, Mikayla Kelmer, Kaleb Kendall, Will Lawson, Adam Lehman, Shyanne Manry, Jake McCarty, Jacob McLean, Ronny Medina, Steven Mitchell, Harley Mobley, Terin Murray, Dalton Nix, Chad Oba, Madison Parker, Sierra Peirce, Cody Potter, Jared Pruett, Jadey Richie, Kinzi Rose, Grace Rumble, Kati Skinner, Taryn Son, Lucas Sosebee, Robyn Sperry, Erin Stone, Andrew Strahan, Domeneke Swinburne, Rhagen Thompson, Christopher Traylor, Hannah Ward, Rachael Ward, Jordan Willett, Brayden Williams, Kendell Wilson, Corey Witherspoon, and Seth Witherspoon.




Copyright 2012,, llc, all rights reserved