Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.

After 44-year absence, Gilbreath Award returns

Thursday, July 28, 2022
After 44-year absence, Gilbreath Award returns

Bobby Gilbreath Athletic Award recipient Mason Cravens is shown with (from left) Barry Gilbreath, Mark Ellis, Harrell Gilbreath, Jack Gilmore, and Coach Michael Swenson.

After 44-year absence, Gilbreath Award returns
After 44-year absence, Gilbreath Award returns

KEVIN HAMILTON/IOWA PARK LEADER Workers pave Cash St. in front of W.F. George Middle School Tuesday.

After a 44-year absence, the coveted Bobby Gilbreath Athletic Award has found new life at Iowa Park High School, with senior Mason Cravens honored last Wednesday in a ceremony at Hawk Stadium.

Cravens was a standout athlete at Iowa Park, competing in football, basketball and track.

He has signed with Hardin-Simmons University to play football.

Athletic Director Michael Swenson was presented with a plaque for the award, honoring a young man who won eight gold medals in three years at the UIL State Track Meet from 1959-1961.

Gilbreath went on to run track at Texas A&M, but passed away unexpectedly before his sophomore year.

Surviving family members helped to restore the award for Iowa Park athletics, including Bobby’s uncle Harrell, and cousins Barry Gilbreath and Mark Ellis. Jack and Sharon Gilmore of Iowa Park were also instrumental in pleading the case for the return of the high honor, and helped with the plaque.

Scotty May was the first recipient of the Bobby Gilbreath Athletic Award. In subsequent years until 1978, other honorees included Mike Brock man, Larry Thompson, Darlene Gilmore, Robert Watson, Kenneth Via, Clark Lemond, Gary Williams, Jimmy Harrison, Ray Dillard, Greg Frazier, Kenny Fraks, David Ross, Donnie Dowell, Karren Brown and Cindy Flanagan.